Other Projects

Andreas Kisser, Ed Motta, & Rui Veloso

Andreas Kisser, Ed Motta and Rui Veloso played together at Rock in Rio 2011.  Andreas and Rui played guitar while Ed handled vocals.  Other musicians filled out the rest of the band.  Eduardo “Ed” Motta is an extremely versatile Brazilian musician with a career covering multiple genres from rock to jazz to bossa nova.  Ed Motta is both a vocalist and instrumentalist.  Rui Veloso is a Portuguese rock and blues guitar player and singer.  Their set at Rock in Rio consisted of the following covers:

  1. Burn (Deep Purple)
  2. Purple Haze (The Jimi Hendrix Experience)
  3. Dreams (The Allman Brothers Band)
  4. All Your Love Do (John Mayall)
  5. Layla (Eric Clapton)
  6. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood (Nina Simone)
  7. Got to Get You Into My Life (The Beatles)
  8. Call it Stormy Monday [But Tuesday is Just as Bad] (T-Bone Walker)
  9. White Room (Cream)
  10. Shapes of Things (The Yardbirds)
  11. Black Dog (Led Zeppelin)

Brasil Rock Stars

In the 2000s, Andreas Kisser lead a rock band called Brasil Rock Stars that played classic rock covers in Brazil.  The group featured many special guests such as Sepultura’s Paulo Jr. and former Angra singer singer André Matos.

Above video: Andreas Kisser, Brasil Rock Stars and Júnior perform “Rock and Roll” (written by Led Zeppelin) in São Paulo, Brazil.


Esfinge was Andreas Kisser’s first band which was formed in 1984.  It featured Andreas on guitar and vocals along with Fabio Bonatelli on bass and Osvaldo on drums.  Esfinge played covered songs of other bands such as Black Sabbath and Iron Maiden.  Esfinge changed its name to Pestilence in 1986.


Godwallop was a project formed in 1996 featuring Andreas Kisser on guitar, Jason Newsted on bass, Carl Coletti on drums and Sfoia Ramos on vocals.  The group never released any material.


Hail! was a “super group” project featuring Andreas Kisser (guitar), Tim “Ripper” Owens (vocals), David Ellefson (bass) and Jimmy DeGrasso (drums).  The band also included other members who rotated in and out of the lineup.  The project was formed in 2009 and performed songs from the members’ own bands including Sepultura, Judas Priest and Megadeth as well as other bands such as AC/DC, Iron Maiden, Metallica and Black Sabbath.

No Coração Dos Deuse (Official Soundtrack)

In June 1998, Andreas Kisser and Igor Cavalera recorded music for the official soundtrack of No Coração Dos Deuse at Estudio ION in São Paulo, Brazil.  The Brazilian film was directed by Geraldo Moraes.   The soundtrack was produced by André Moraes and also features a guest appearance from Mike Patton (ex-Faith No More) on the song “Procura O Cara.”  The soundtrack was released in 1999 by Mascot Records.

One of the songs on the album, “Enforcamento,” has been used as a concert intro by German metal band Die Apokalyptischen Reiter.  “Enforcamento” was then featured in Die Apokalytischen Reiter’s 2009 DVD Adrenalin.  


Album: No Coração Dos Deuse (Official Soundtrack)
Record label: Mascot Records
Release date: 1999

View the album on Amazon.com.

Track Listing:

1. O Desconhecido
2. Walkman

3. Gibão De Couro

4. Bruxaria
5. Aldeia
6. Tamanduá De Tróia
7. Enforcamento
8. Tauana E Pedro
9. Procura O Cara (featuring Mike Patton)
10. Saída Das Canoas
11. Índios
12. Martírios
13. Feitiçaria De Gabriel

14. Terra De Manoa


Pestilence was a Brazilian metal band featuring Andreas Kisser on guitar and vocals, Fabio Bonatelli on bass and Osvaldo on drums.  Pestilence was formed under the name Esfinge in 1984 and changed its name in 1986.  Pestilence released a demo in 1987 but was never signed to a record label and did not release any full studio albums.  The group disbanded after Andreas joined Sepultura.  The Pestilence demo tracks were later used for Sepultura songs on the Schizophrenia and Beneath the Remains albums.

Above audio/video: Pestilence performing “Slaves of Pain” live – Municipal Theatre Santo André, Brazil – 29 January 1987

Projeto Brasil Guitarras

On 7 January 2017, Andreas Kisser was one of ten of Brazil’s most talented guitars who performed a free show at the Farol da Barra.  The other guitarists included Armandinho Macedo, Robertinho de Recife, Edgar Scandurra, Frank Solari, Davi Moraes, Kiko Loureiro, Luiz Carlini, Marcelo Barbosa, and Toninho Horta.    



Quarteta de Pinga

Quarteto Da Pinga was project featuring Andreas Kisser on guitar, Exodus’ Tom Hunting on drums, Metallica’s Jason Newsted on bass and vocals and Machinehead’s Robb Flynn on guitar and vocals.  The project was formed in 1995 and only recorded three demo tracks which were never released.  The three tracks they recorded consisted of two original songs — “Twisted” and “Creation” and a Motorhead cover — “No Class.”

Above video: Quarteto de Pinga – Creation

Above video: Quarteto de Pinga – Twisted


Sexoturica was a project featuring Andreas Kisser on guitar, Exodus’ Tom Hunting on drums and Metallica’s Jason Newsted on bass and vocals.  The band name was a combination of the band members main bands — Sepultura, Exodus and Metallica.

The band recorded a three song demo in 1995.  The songs recorded on the demo were not released, however, until 2003, when Jason Newsted packaged them together on a split record with another one of his projects, IR8, on a release titled IR8 vs. Sexuoturica.  IR8 features a lineup of Jason Newsted, Tom Hunting and Devin Townsend.


Album: IR8 vs. Sexoturica
Record label: Chophouse Records
Release date: 2003

View the album on Amazon.com.

Track Listing:

1. IR8 – Colossus
2. IR8 – Nothing

3. IR8 – Black on Black

4. Sexoturica – Alone
5. Sexoturica – Zone of Death
6. Sexoturica – Dead Soul at Sleep